google-site-verification=sscqt4EZAxTBRy0xIJ3-9C-WubKxH1iwPlHU9j5Ba-s
 
  • Evan M. Howard

Missouri Manslaughter

In the State of Missouri, manslaughter can either be voluntary or involuntary. Voluntary Manslaughter Voluntary manslaughter is when a person: (1) causes the death of another person under the circumstance that would constitute murder in the second degree, except that he or she caused the death under the influence of sudden passion arising from adequate cause; or (2) knowingly assists another in the commission of self-murder. Voluntary manslaughter is a Class B Felony, punishable to 5-15 years in prison. Involuntary Manslaughter – First Degree A person commits the offense of involuntary manslaughter in the first degree if he or she recklessly causes the death of another person. This offense is a Class C Felony punishable up to 7 years in prison and fines up to $5,000. Involuntary Manslaughter – Second Degree A person commits the offense of involuntary manslaughter in the second degree if he or she acts with criminal negligence to cause the death of any person. This charge is a Class E Felony, punishable up to 4 years in prison. Manslaughter, voluntary or involuntary, is an extremely serious charge. Hiring an experience criminal defense attorney can help evaluate your case and decide what options you have. Contact Howard Haake at (314) 325-9868 or (636) 332-5555 for a free consultation regarding your manslaughter charge and learn what rights and remedies are best for your situation.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Missouri Breach of Contract

A contract is a legally enforceable agreement between two parties. When one of those parties fails to fulfill their promise, a breach of

Missouri Expungement

Arrests and convictions can have a long lasting impact on your life. They can keep you from getting an apartment or even a job. Even if th

Missouri Fraud

Fraud in the State of Missouri is a serious offense and has severe penalties associated with the charges. There are also many different ty