Missouri Driving Without Insurance
In Missouri, every person who drives on the roadways is required to have proof of financial responsibility according to the Missouri Department of Insurance. Each individual is also required to provide this proof of financial responsibility when asked by a police officers. First Offense Penalty If you fail to provide insurance this is a Class D Misdemeanor charge. Your driver’s license will be suspended until you can prove you have insurance on your vehicle. After obtaining proof of insurance, the courts will most likely just dismiss the charges, but you will have to pay a $20 reinstatement fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Second Offense Penalty If you’ve received two offenses for failure to provide proof of insurance within a two year period, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. You may also face 15 days in jail and fines up to $500. After providing proof of insurance, you will have to pay a $200 reinstatement fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Third Offense Penalty If you’ve received a third driving without insurance offense within a 2 year time span, you will face a 1 year suspension of your driver’s license and a restatement fee of $400 after your suspension is over. Aside from the penalties with the driving bureau, you will also face up to 15 days in jail and fines up to $500. Paying the fine and pleading guilty may not be the best route. In Missouri, if you receive 12 points on your license within a 12 month period, your license can be revoked for up to a year. If you receive 8 points in your license within 18 months, you may face a 30 day suspension. Read my blog post The Side Effects of Pleading Guilty to Traffic Violations for more information. Contact Howard Haake at (314) 325-9868 or (636) 332-5555 for a free consultation and learn what rights and remedies are best for your situation.