Missouri Driving an Unregistered Vehicle
In Missouri, “every owner of a motor vehicle or trailer, which shall be operated or driven upon the highways of this state, except as herein otherwise expressly provided, shall annually file, by mail or otherwise, in the office of the director of revenue, an application for registration on a blank to be furnished by the director of revenue for that purpose containing: (1) A brief description of the motor vehicle or trailer to be registered, including the name of the manufacturer, the vehicle identification number, the amount of motive power of the motor vehicle, stated in figures of horsepower and whether the motor vehicle is to be registered as a motor vehicle primarily for business use as defined in section 301.010; (2) The name, the applicant's identification number and address of the owner of such motor vehicle or trailer; (3) The gross weight of the vehicle and the desired load in pounds if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle or trailer.” RSMo. § 301.020. Violation of this law is a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $1,000. If you’ve been charged with driving an unregistered vehicle, contact Howard Haake at (314) 325-9868 or (636) 332-5555 for a free consultation and learn what rights and remedies are best for your situation.