Missouri Auto Theft
In order to be convicted of auto theft, the State must prove: (1) taking of a motor vehicle; (2) the motor vehicle is not owned by the accused; (3) with the intent to deprive the owner of the vehicle; and (4) the taking was without the owner’s permission or after getting permission based on a lie. Stealing a vehicle is a Class C Felony in Missouri and, if convicted, results in up to 7 years in prison and fines up to $5,000. Auto theft is a serious crime. Hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you evaluate the charges against you and guide you through the options that are available. In some cases, you may be able to get the charges thrown out all together or at the least have your charges reduced. Contact Howard Haake at (314) 325-9868 or (636) 332-5555 for a free consultation regarding your auto theft charge and learn what rights and remedies are best for your situation.