Missouri Traffic Fines with the FCC
In Missouri, if you are issued a ticket by a Missouri State Trooper, the process for paying your ticket is completely different than if a city or municipal officer issued the ticket. When a State Trooper issues the ticket, the ticket is sent to the Fine Collection Center (FCC) in Jefferson City, Missouri.
Below is a list of the typical fines associated with speeding tickets and other offenses. Take note, depending on certain offenses and certain counties where you were issued the ticket, additional fees may apply.
1-5 mph over posted speed limit: $83
In construction/work zone: $118
In work zone with workers present: $333
6-10 mph over posted speed limit: $97
In construction/work zone: $132
In work zone with workers present: $347
11-15 mph over posted speed limit: $122
In construction/work zone: $157
In work zone with workers present: $372
16-19 mph over posted speed limit: $147
In construction/work zone: $182
In work zone with workers present: $397
20-25 mph over posted speed limit: $222
In construction/work zone: $257
In work zone with workers present: $472
More than 25 mph over – Court Appearance Required
No child safety restraint/child booster seat: $83
No seat belt (adults & children): $10
No driver’s license (excluding CDLs): $147
Failed to register vehicle (cars and MO trucks): $97
Failed to display/attach plates/tabs: $93
Failed to register non-resident commercial motor vehicle: $193
Fail to keep proper/made false motor carrier driver’s record: $172
Vision reducing material violation: $97
Fail to stop at red light or stop sign: $97
Defective tires, lights, signals, wipers, etc.: $147
Unsafe or improper brakes, suspension, axle, wheel, rim, steering system: $197
After receiving the ticket, you have 30 days to either pay the fine or plead not guilty. Remember, the ticket goes to the FCC in Jefferson City. The FCC is only designed to collect fine and cannot make recommendations or issue plea deals. Therefore, the process is a little different than the normal traffic ticket.
Of course, if you want, but it’s not advisable, you can just mail the FCC a check or pay the fine online. If, on the other hand, you decide you want to fight the ticket, you will have to fill out, or have an attorney fill out, the not guilty plea form. Once the FCC receives the not guilty plea, they will send the ticket back to the county where the ticket was issued.
After the county receives the ticket and not guilty plea from the FCC, the prosecutor for the county now takes over the case. This is where you’ll be able to ask for recommendations; most commonly known as “fixing” your ticket. Generally, depending on the charge, you’ll be offered a non-moving violation and be required to pay a higher fine. While this sounds backwards, a non-moving violation keeps points off your license and doesn’t affect your insurance rates. The prosecutors know you don’t want points on your license and they’ll make sure you pay for that plea offer.
If you’ve been issued a ticket by a Missouri State Trooper or have a ticket sent to the FCC, contact Howard Law to help keep points off your license. Remember, you have 30 days to either pay the fine or plead not guilty. Failure to respond within 30 days can lead to additional fines up to $1,000.00 and up to one year in jail. Contact Howard Law at (314) 833-3505.
About The Author
Evan M. Howard is the managing attorney for Howard Law, a St. Louis criminal defense law firm based in Clayton, Missouri. Focused on giving honest, quick and effective representation to all of our clients. With experience dealing with tough criminal prosecution cases, Howard Law is ready to help guide you through your legal matter.