Missouri Drug Possession
Missouri has some of the toughest drug possession charges. While other states charge drug crimes according to the type of drug and the amount found on the person, Missouri takes a different approach. Most possession charges, no matter how small they may be, are often charged as a felony drug offense.
Aside from possession of marijuana, the penalty for most drug possession charges in Missouri will be a Class C Felony. With a Class C Felony, you are facing a maximum penalty of 7 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
While those charges are extremely serious and can terrify anyone, you still have hope! With a strict penalty of 7 years in prison, you need to find a defense attorney willing to protect you rights and fight for you.
Each situation is different and how the drugs were found in your possession is important. If your rights were violated, either through an illegal stop or an illegal search, you can be able to get the evidence against you thrown out and the case dismissed.
Contact Howard Haake at (314) 325-9868 or (636) 332-5555 for a free consultation regarding your drug possession charge and learn what rights and remedies you have.