Missouri Driving on Suspended or Revoked License
In Missouri, “A person commits the offense of driving while revoked if such person operates a motor vehicle on a highway when such person's license or driving privilege has been cancelled, suspended, or revoked under the laws of this state or any other state and acts with criminal negligence with respect to knowledge of the fact that such person's driving privilege has been cancelled, suspended, or revoked.” RSMo. § 302.321.
First Offense Penalty
The first violation of driving with a suspended or revoked license is a Class D Misdemeanor, no jail time but fines up to $400.
Second Offense Penalty
Your second driving while suspended or revoked will be charged as a Class A Misdemeanor punishable up to a year in jail and fines up to $300.
Third Offense Penalty
If you receive three driving while suspended or revoked charges within a 10 year period, you will be facing a Class E Felony with up to 4 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
In addition to the criminal charges, you will also be facing points on your driver’s license. If you receive 12 points on your license within a 12 month period, your license can be revoked for up to a year. If you receive 8 points in your license within 18 months, you may face a 30 day suspension. Read my blog post The Side Effects of Pleading Guilty to Traffic Violations for more information.
Contact Howard Haake at (314) 325-9868 or (636) 332-5555 for a free consultation and learn what rights and remedies are best for your situation.